Monday, 13 July 2020 15:04

Colorado Face Mask Requirements: What You Need to Know

As stay-at-home orders continue being lifted across Colorado, some counties* have enacted additional COVID-19 related rules and restrictions to continue slowing the spread of the virus. Many are taking the suggestion to wear a mask one step further and officially making it a requirement. Because these requirements vary from city to city, it can be tough to keep track of face mask rules. Here is a breakdown of Colorado face mask requirements across the state.

How wearing a mask helps slow the spread of COVID-19

COVID-19 spreads through respiratory droplets that are produced when an infected person talks, coughs, or sneezes. Studies have shown that a large portion of people who have COVID-19 are either asymptomatic or still contagious before symptoms develop.

Wearing a face mask or cloth covering prevents these respiratory droplets from spreading to nearby people. WHO estimates that face masks could reduce the spread of the virus by 85% or more.

Colorado face mask requirements by city

Public health orders are changing by the day and it’s important to always check Colorado face masks requirements before going out in public. That said, here are the latest requirements by city (or county), listed alphabetically.

Aspen, CO – Aspen requires anyone within city limits to wear a face mask when in public. This includes indoor and outdoor spaces where it is difficult to maintain social distancing.

Boulder, CO – In Boulder, anyone 12-years-old and up must wear a face mask when in public. Face coverings are also required in Boulder when a distance of 6-feet cannot be maintained outdoors.

Breckenridge, CO – In May, Breckenridge joined other mountain towns in requiring face masks for anyone who enters essential businesses. And if a six-foot distance cannot be maintained outdoors, a face mask is required.

If residents or visitors don’t adhere to these requirements, the first offense results in a $50 fine, the second in a $250 fine, and the third in a $500 fine.

Denver, CO – In Denver, face masks are required for anyone above the age of 3 who is outside of their home and unable to keep a safe distance from others. This includes waiting in line at businesses, bus stops, hospitals, and other healthcare-related facilities.

Similar to other major airports, Denver International Airport also requires all visitors and passengers to wear face masks at all times.

Estes Park, CO – Estes Park, like other mountain towns, issued an order that requires everyone who visits a business or outdoor space to wear a face mask. The order will remain in effect until further notice.

Glenwood Springs, CO – While in public businesses, everyone within Glenwood Springs is required to wear a face mask or cover.

Lone Tree, CO – In Lone Tree, all employees and customers must wear face masks while inside of local businesses.

Steamboat Springs, CO – Routt County, where Steamboat Springs is located, requires the use of face coverings while inside of any essential business. Failure to comply could result in hefty costs—up to $5,000 in fines and 18 months in jail.

Where to buy CDC-approved face masks

Here at Out of the Blue, Denver’s premier custom print shop, we offer a wide variety of custom and CDC-approved face masks. With our comfortable face masks, you can safely and easily adhere to Colorado face mask requirements throughout the entire state. We are incredibly proud to offer:

  • Guaranteed dependable quality
  • Quantity discounts
  • Direct shipping from the supplier
  • One-time use and reusable options

Request a quote today to stay safe, healthy, and comfortable in Colorado this year.

*UPDATE: As of July 16th, Colorado Governor Jared Polisissues issued a statewide mask order as COVID-19 cases rise. You can learn more about the state-wide mandates here.